World Heritage Sites in Canada

UNESCO world heritage sites

Parks Canada implements the World Heritage Convention in Canada. The 18 sites that have been designated in Canada are a combination of national and provincial parks and historic settings that World Heritage Committee members have recognized as among the most significant sites on Earth. They are:

  • Nahanni National Park (1978)
  • L'Anse aux Meadows National Historic Site (1978)
  • Kluane/Wrangell-St. Elias/Glacier Bay/Tatshenshini-Alsek (1979, 1992, 1994) (a trans-boundary site between Canada and the United States)
  • Dinosaur Provincial Park (1979)
  • SGang Gwaay(Anthony Island) (1981)
  • Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump (1981)
  • Wood Buffalo National Park (1983)
  • Canadian Rocky Mountain Parks (1984, 1990)
  • Historic District of Old Québec (1985)
  • Gros Morne National Park (1987)
  • Old Town Lunenburg (1995)
  • Miguasha National Park (1999)
  • Waterton Glacier International Peace Park (1995) (a transboundary site between Canada and the United States)
  • Rideau Canal (2007)
  • Joggins Fossil Cliffs (2008)
  • The Landscape of Grand Pre in Nova Scotia (2012)
  • Red Bay Basque Whaling Station in Newfoundland and Labrador (2013)
  • Mistaken Point in Newfoundland and Labrador (2016)

For an interactive map with more information about each of these sites, visit Parks Canada.