News

May 19, 2017

Countering Right-Wing Extremist Radicalization

by Daniel Gallant

Right-wing extremism is alive and well in Canada! Learn about this problem that exists at all levels of our society and what is done to address it in Daniel Gallant’s Ideas Lab paper: Countering Right-Wing Extremist Radicalization- Where to take our policy toolkits next: In-formed and re-formed perspectives of a former violent extremist

Download the reflection paper

May 3, 2017

Spies vs. Reporters: Multiple cases of police spying on reporters in Quebec

Freedom of the press is essential to democracy. According to Reporters without Borders, Canada now ranks 22nd in the World Press Freedom Index, which represents a drop of 14 ranks since 2015. On the occasion of World Press Freedom Day (May 3), CCUNESCO asked Grant Buckler, journalist and member of CJFE’s Canadian Issues Committee, to write a reflection paper on the topic. Read it here.


April 26, 2017

Dezinformatsiya: The past, present and future of ‘fake news’

We hear a lot about fake news lately, but do you really know what they are, who make them and for what reasons? Access to reliable information is crucial for democracy, this is the reason why UNESCO and CCUNESCO are committed to raise awareness about this important problem. CCUNESCO asked Dr. Christopher Dornan from Carleton University to write a reflection paper on this topic. Read it here.

Nouvelles

19 mai 2017

Combattre la radicalization d’extrême droite

par Daniel Gallant

L’extrémisme de droite se porte bien au Canada! Découvrez les diverses facettes de ce problème qui existe à tous les niveaux de notre société dans le document du Lab d’Idées rédigé par Daniel Gallant : Combattre la radicalisation d’extrême droite- L’évolution des instruments de politique : le point de vue éclairé d’un ancien extrémiste violent

Téléchanger le document de réflection

3 mai 2017

Espions contre journalistes: Les multiples cas d’espionnage des journalistes québécois 

La liberté de la presse est un élément essentiel pour la démocratie. Selon Reporters sans Frontières, le Canada occupe actuellement le 22e rang du classement mondial de la liberté de la presse; une diminution de 14 rangs depuis 2015. À l’occasion de la Journée mondiale pour la liberté de la presse (3 mai), la CCUNESCO a demandé au journaliste Grant Buckler, membre du Canadian Issues Committee de CJFE, d’écrire un document de réflexion sur le sujet. Lisez-le ici.


26 avril 2017

Dezinformatsiya: Le passé, le présent et l'avenir des «fausses nouvelles»

Nous entendons beaucoup parler de fausses nouvelles dernièrement, mais savez-vous ce qu’elles sont, qui les produit et pour quelles raisons? L’accès à une information fiable est une condition essentielle à la démocratie. Voilà pourquoi l’UNESCO et la CCUNESCO sont engagées à sensibiliser les gens à cet important problème. La CCUNESCO a demandé à Christopher Dornan de l’Université de Carleton d’écrire un document de réflexion sur le sujet. Lisez-le ici.